Results tagged ‘ Brian Rupp ’

Moustakas among five players named to Arizona Fall League roster

The Royals have announced that five minor leaguers have committed to play for the Surprise Rafters in the 2009 Arizona Fall League.  Shortstop Jeff Bianchi, third baseman Mike Moustakas, outfielder David Lough, right-handed pitcher Danny Gutierrez and left-hander Ben Swaggerty will play for Surprise manager Brian Rupp, the current manager for the Royals’ Class A Advanced club in Wilmington.  Kansas City will fill two additional spots on the roster by September 10.

bianchi jeff_825.jpgBianchi, 22, has split the 2009 season with Wilmington and Northwest Arkansas (AA), batting a combined .307 with 25 doubles, seven home runs, 59 RBI, 66 runs scored and 22 stolen bases.  The 6-foot, 175-pounder from Lancaster, Pa. was the Royals’ second-round selection in the 2005 draft.






Moustakas.jpgMoustakas, KC’s first-round pick (2nd overall) in the 2007 draft, has hit .252 with 27 doubles, 15 home runs and 79 RBI as a 20-year old for Wilmington.  His RBI total places him tied for third in the Carolina League while his homers are tied for sixth.

lough david_511.jpg







The 23-year old Lough, like Bianchi, has split his time this season between Wilmington and NW Arkansas, and is currently batting .331 with 10 doubles, eight home runs, 28 RBI, 34 runs and 11 steals in 47 games for the Naturals.  He was the Royals 11th round pick from the 2007 draft.

gutierrez dan_1035.jpgGutierrez is 0-0 with a 2.11 ERA in seven games (three starts) for Wilmington, walking five and striking out 21 in 21.1 innings.  The 22-year old right-hander was a 33rd round pick for the Royals in the 2005 draft.


swaggerty ben_1606.jpgSwaggerty is a left-handed reliever who was 3-1 with a 1.64 ERA in 16 appearances for Wilmington before posting a 3-1 mark with a 3.57 ERA in 22 outings at NW Arkansas.  The 27-year old signed with Kansas City as an undrafted free agent in 2007.

The Arizona Fall League season begins on October 13.

The Bees get their rings


Bees Ring Ceremony 3-22-09 010.JPGBees Ring Ceremony 3-22-09 001.jpgChampionship rings were presented this morning to the 2008 Midwest League champion Burlington Bees. After a 30-39 start to the season, the Bees made a second half surge, going 43-26. Burlington went a perfect 6-0 in the playoffs to earn the league championship.

Moore_Rupp.JPGThe 2008 Bees were managed by Brian Rupp, the 2008 Dick Howser Award winner. Rupp (right with Dayton Moore) is now the manager at Class A-Advanced Wilmington.

Moore_Brockett.JPGBurlington General Manager Chuck Brockett displays a championship ring while pausing for a picture with Dayton Moore.

Mayberry_Leonard_Wilson.JPGHere’s Royals Hall of Famers John Mayberry, Dennis Leonard, and Willie Wilson. They’ve been at camp this week working with the minor league squads. Special thanks go to Mayberry, Leonard, and Wilson for passing their knowledge on to the next generation of Royals!


Awards Night honorees announced

awards_night_250x150.gifThe Royals have announced the remaining organizational award winners, who will be recognized at the 2009 Royals Awards Night on January 16 at the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel. This great event will be capped by the announcement of the Ewing Kauffman Mr. Baseball Award. Buy your tickets today! The honorees include:

Dan Ontiveros – Art Stewart Scout of the Year

Dan scouts the Southern California area for the Royals. He previously worked for the St. Louis Cardinals and Chicago White Sox. In his first year with the Royals, Ontiveros signed left-handed pitcher Mike Montgomery, the club’s supplemental pick in 2008. Montgomery earned Pitcher of the Year honors for the Surprise Royals last season.

rupp brian_212.jpgBrian Rupp – Dick Howser Player Development Person of the Year

 Brian (left) is now the manager of the Wilmington Blue Rocks. In 2008, he guided the Burlington Bees to the Midwest League championship. Rupp played in the St. Louis organization for seven seasons before becoming a minor league coach with the Cardinals in 1999.

teaford everett_981.jpgEverett Teaford – Mike Sweeney Award

Everett, a left-handed pitcher, will receive the Mike Sweeney Award, which recognizes a player who best represents the organization on and off the field. Teaford went 8-6 with a 3.80 ERA for Wilmington in 2008. In addition, he took part in every Blue Rocks community event. The Carolina League named Teaford as the inaugural Matt Minker Community Service Award winner.


robinson derrick_537.jpgDerrick Robinson – Willie Wilson Base Runner of the Year

Robinson could be playing in tonight’s national championship football game, but he turned down a scholarship to the University of Florida to sign with Kansas City. Robinson’s future on the baseball diamond is very bright. The speedster set the pace with an individual franchise record 62 stolen bases as the Wilmington Blue Rocks established a team franchise mark with 258 thefts. His total of 62 led the Carolina League and placed him fourth among all minor league players.

bianchi jeff_825.jpg


Jeff Bianchi – Frank White Defensive Player of the Year

Bianchi, a former shortstop, made a smooth transition to second base, the position held down by the awards’ namesake and eight-time Gold Glove winner. Jeff made just 2 errors in 75 games at second base and 7 errors overall.

cortes daniel_110.jpgDan Cortes – Paul Splittorff Pitcher of the Year

The highly-touted righty went 10-4 with a 3.78 ERA as he helped the Northwest Arkansas Naturals reach the playoffs in their inaugural season. Cortes earned team Pitcher of the Year honors and Postseason Texas League All-Star status. He was drafted by the White Sox in 2005 and signed by fellow honoree Dan Ontiveros.

kaaihue kila_004.jpgKila Ka’aihue – George Brett Hitter of the Year

Kila had a breakout season in 2008, as he led Kansas City’s minor league system with 37 home runs and 100 RBI. He earned Texas League Player of the Year honors after slamming 26 home runs for the Northwest Arkansas Naturals. Ka’aihue finished the year with the big league club and collected his first home run on September 20.

The Royals will also honor Patti Lewis with the Dan Quisenberry Special Achievement Award, which recognizes an outstanding member of the community. Lewis is founder and director of Alexandra’s House, a non-profit perinatel hospice that reaches out to families who have an anticipated infant loss.

The club previously announced that Chris Kemple will be recognized as The Matt Minker Award winner. The award is presented to an outstanding minor league affiliate employee. Chris is the general manager of the Wilmington Blue Rocks.

The Major League award winners, Pitcher of the Year Joakim Soria, Player of the Year Mike Aviles, and Special Achievement winner Zack Greinke will also be honored.



Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers