Jirschele named Mike Coolbaugh Award winner by Minor League Baseball

Congratulations to Omaha manager Mike Jirschele, who was named the 2011 Mike Coolbaugh Award winner today by Minor League Baseball.

The Mike Coolbaugh Award is presented to an individual who has shown an outstanding baseball work ethic, knowledge of the game and skill in mentoring young players on the field. Coolbaugh played in nearly 1,700 games in his Minor League Baseball career from 1990-2006. He also appeared in 44 Major League games. Coolbaugh was only 35 years old when he died after being hit in the neck by a line drive while coaching first base for Tulsa in a game at Arkansas on July 22, 2007.

Jirschele led the Omaha Storm Chasers to the Pacific Coast League championship in his ninth consecutive year of managing the Royals’ top affiliate this season. Along the way, he also won his 1,000th game as a Minor League manager.

Bobby Jones (2008), Charlie Montoyo (2009) and Woody Huyke (2010) have also received the Coolbaugh Award.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

%d bloggers like this: