Mike Moustakas named Sporting News Minor League Hitter of the Year; Myers and Collins also honored

Kansas City prospect Mike Moustakas has been named the 2010 Sporting News Minor League Hitter of the Year of the Year.  In addition, catcher Wil Myers and relief pitcher Tim Collins were named to the Sporting News All-Minor League Team as the best player at their respective positions.  The Royals were the lone organization in baseball with multiple selections.

Moustakas tied for the minor league lead with a combined 36 home runs for Northwest Arkansas (AA) and Omaha (AAA).  The Royals first-round pick (second overall) in 2007 batted .322 (156-for-484) with 41 doubles, 124 RBI and 94 runs scored, posting a slugging percentage of .630.  His RBI total was the second-most in the minors.

The 21-year-old Northridge, Calif., resident has accumulated several honors throughout the 2010 season.  He was selected as the Royals’ George Brett Minor League Hitter of the Year and the Texas League Player of the Year.  In addition, Moustakas was chosen to represent the Royals in the All-Star Futures Game and was also honored as one of five finalists for the USA Today Minor League Player of the Year.

Myers, 19, split the season between Burlington (A) and Wilmington (High A), batting a combined .315 with 37 doubles, 14 home runs, 83 RBI and 70 runs scored in 126 games.  The right-handed hitter was the Royals’ third-round selection in the 2009 Draft.

21-year-old left-hander Collins was acquired from the Atlanta Braves on July 31, 2010 with outfielder Gregor Blanco and pitcher Jesse Chavez in exchange for outfielder Rick Ankiel and pitcher Kyle Farnsworth.  The 5-foot-7 hurler pitched at the Double-A level in the Blue Jays and Braves organizations before joining Omaha following his acquisition by Kansas City.  Collins was 3-1 at the three stops with a 2.02 ERA in 56 appearances, striking out 108 and walking 27 in 71.1 innings.

In addition to Moustakas as Sporting News Hitter of the Year, the other winners were:

Pitcher of the Year: Jeremy Hellickson-TB, Rookie of the Year: Chris Sale-CWS.  The All-Minor League team consisted of: Catcher: Wil Myers-KC, First base: Brandon Belt-SF, Second base: Brett Lawrie-MIL, Shortstop: Nick Franklin-SEA, Third base: Brandon Laird-NYY, Outfielders: Dominic Brown-PHI; Mike Trout-LAA and Jerry Sands-LAD, Starting pitcher: Julio Teheran-ATL, Relief pitcher: Tim Collins-KC.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

%d bloggers like this: