Royals announce 2010 Awards Night recipients

Awards night logo-2010.jpgThe Royals are pleased to announce the remaining organizational award winners for the 2009 season.  The honorees will be recognized at the 2010 Royals Awards Night, presented by James B. Nutter, on Thursday, January 14 at the Overland Park Convention Center in Overland Park, Kan.  Information on the event and the Budweiser Pre-Party, including how to purchase tickets, will be released in the coming days.

During the event, the Royals will recognize 13 honorees for their contributions both on and off the field in 2009.  Former Royals greats such as George Brett, Frank White, Willie Wilson and Paul Splittorff will be among the presenters in attendance.

Previously, the club announced the following award recipients as voted on by the Kansas City Chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA).  A.L. Cy Young winner Zack Greinke was a unanimous selection for the 2009 Bruce Rice Pitcher of the Year and Billy Butler was also unanimous as the 2009 Les Milgram Player of the Year.  Infielder Alberto Callaspo was named the 2009 Joe Burke Special Achievement Award winner.

Adhering to tradition, the Royals will announce and present the Ewing Kauffman Mr. Baseball Award at the event. In honor of the club’s first owner, this award recognizes an overall contribution to baseball in the Kansas City area.

The remaining award recipients to be recognized at the event include:

medina.jpgLouie Medina (left)
, recipient of the Art Stewart Scout of the Year – recognizing an outstanding scout. Medina just finished his ninth season with the Royals, his second as special assistant to the general manager/player personnel.  He is being honored for his ongoing contribution to the professional scouting department and was instrumental in bringing All-Star closer Joakim Soria to Kansas City.

davis mark__1231.jpgMark Davis (right)
, recipient of the Dick Howser Player Development Person of the Year – recognizing an outstanding member of player development. Davis (right) has spent four seasons in the Royals system tutoring the pitchers at the rookie league level for Surprise (Ariz.).  The 1989 N.L. Cy Young Award winner pitched 16 seasons in the Majors, including a two and a half year stint in Kansas City.

Martie Cordaro, vice president and general manager of the Omaha Royals, is the recipient of the Matt Minker Award – recognizing an outstanding minor league affiliate employee.  Cordaro was recently among the honorees for the Midlands Business Journal “40 under 40” recognizing entrepreneurs and business executives.

robinson clint_1711.jpgClint  Robinson (left)
, recipient of the Mike Sweeney Award – recognizing a player who best represents the organization on and off the field.  The 24-year old first baseman, the Royals’ 25th-round pick in 2007, batted .298 with 13 home runs for the Blue Rocks.  Off the field, Robinson logged over 36 hours to Wilmington schools and camps as well as the local Children’s Hospital.  According to the Blue Rocks community relations staff, Robinson made himself available for each and every community appearance.

dyson jarrod_355.jpgJarrod Dyson (right)
, recipient of the Willie Wilson Base Runner of the Year – recognizing the organization’s top base runner. Dyson, 25, stole a combined 46 bases in 56 attempts for Burlington (A) and Northwest Arkansas (AA) in 2009.  The Royals’ 50th-round selection from the 2006 Draft swiped two more bases and hit .310 for the Surprise Rafters in the Arizona Fall League and was added to KC’s Major League 40-man roster in November.

perez salvador_0940.jpgSalvador Perez (left)
, recipient of the Frank White Defensive Player of the Year – recognizing the organization’s top defensive player. The 19-year old catcher spent time in 2009 at both Idaho Falls (R) and Burlington (A), throwing out one-third of all attempted basestealers (28-for-84).  Perez was signed as a non-drafted free agent on September 27, 2006.

Montgomery 07-28-09--067.jpgMike Montgomery (right)
, recipient of the Paul Splittorff Pitcher of the Year – recognizing the organization’s top pitcher. The Royals sandwich selection (36th overall) in 2008, the 20-year old posted a 2-3 record with a sparkling 2.17 ERA in 12 starts for Burlington (A) last season before his promotion to Wilmington (A Advanced).  The 6-foot-5 lefty continued his success for the Blue Rocks, compiling a 4-1 mark with a 2.25 ERA in nine starts.

lough david_511.jpgDavid Lough (left)
, recipient of the George Brett Hitter of the Year – recognizing the organization’s top hitter. The 23-year old outfielder had a breakout season in 2009, combining for a .325 average with 28 doubles, four triples, 14 home runs, 61 RBI and 19 stolen bases in stops at Wilmington and Northwest Arkansas.  The left-handed hitter and thrower was the club’s 11th-round selection in 2007.

In addition, the Royals will honor LeRoy Zimmerman with the Dan Quisenberry Special Achievement Award –  recognizing an outstanding member of the community.  Zimmerman is a tireless volunteer who serves low income seniors in Kansas City’s urban core, often focusing on home repairs such as building wheelchair ramps, widening doorways and installing safety upgrades in bathrooms.  In addition, the Overland Park, Kan., resident is active in prison ministry and serves on the board of Metro Lutheran Ministry.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

%d bloggers like this: